Review Board

The Most Rev. Daniel M. Buechlein, O.S.B., archbishop of Indianapolis, created in 2002 a six-member archdiocesan review board to assist him in carrying out the provisions of the “Charter for the Protection of Children and Young People” adopted by the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. The charter establishes protocols for dealing with the sexual abuse of minors by Church personnel.

Our current Review Board members:

  • Eileen Ahrens, Chair| August 2015-August 2020
  • Rev. Msgr. Anthony R. Volz | August 2015-August 2020
  • Mary Catherine Horty | August 2015-August 2020
  • Ed Haskins, Ph.D. | August 2016-August 2021
  • Ida Lamberti | August 2017-August 2022
  • Mary Ann Ransdell | August 2017-August 2022

When forming the Review Board, Archbishop Buechlein said: “I am pleased that such a distinguished group of competent professionals has stepped forward to put their considerable talents at the service of the Church and the greater community. These individuals bring to the table a variety of perspectives. As a group, they possess a high degree of expertise in the area of the sexual abuse of minors.

“I rely on the wisdom and counsel of various groups of advisors in carrying out my ministry in the Church,” the archbishop said. “It will be no different with this board. I appreciate their willingness to take on such a challenge, and I look forward to working with them.”

The archbishop in 2010 appointed the position of victims assistance coordinator as called for in the U.S. bishops’ charter. The victims assistance coordinator arranges for the immediate pastoral care of persons who report that they have been sexually abused as minors by Church personnel.

Review Board Staff

  • Victims Assistance Coordinator
  • John S. (Jay) Mercer, J.D.
  • Very Rev. Joseph L. Newton, JCD

Former Members

  • Rev. Paul D. Etienne | August 2002-October 2009
  • Cathleen Graham | August 2002-August 2010
  • Michael H. Zunk | August 2002-August 2010
  • Richard K. Grana, Ph.D. | August 2002-August 2011
  • Ann DeLaney | August 2002-August 2012
  • John (Jack) Whelan | August 2002-August 2012

Former Staff Members

  • William J. Wood
  • Rev. Msgr. Joseph F. Schaedel
  • Rev. William F. Stumpf
  • Suzanne Magnant Yakimchick, Victims Assistance Coordinator
  • Jan Link, Victims Assistance Coordinator
  • Very Rev. Stanley L. Pondo
  • Very Rev. Stephen W. Giannini
  • Rev. Patrick Cooney, O.S.B.
  • Very Rev. Joseph M. Feltz

Local site Links: